Who is Anna Sky?

After I made my blog, it took a whole month to decide what my first blog post should be about. I don’t know why it took so long, but I think it’s because I wanted my first post to be special. It’s the first post of mine that showcases my writing to the world, and to be honest, I was scared. I don’t usually share my writing with others even though I’ve always wanted to. I decided that one of my goals for 2014 would be to create a blog, because I felt like it was time for the world to know who I am. I’m not getting any younger, and it’s about time I start to put myself out there. Anyhow, after a month, I finally decided that it would obviously make sense for my first blogpost to be about myself. Not in a bragging type of way, because in all honestly, the one thing I absolutely despise is talking about myself, but I thought that my readers, if I had any, would want to get to know who Anna Sky is.

Well to start off, like many writers, Anna Sky, is not my real name. I always thought that having a pen name was pretty awesome. It’s like pretending to be someone else.  Some writers don’t prefer it, but I do. Not because I don’t want readers to know who I am, but because I want readers to focus on my writing without judging who I am, if they happen to personally know me.

Now, let’s get to the juicy; yet not so interesting story about me. I was born and raised in one of the most multicultural cities in the world, Toronto. I still currently live in Toronto, and I don’t mind it really, because I love my city, however, I have the biggest case of wanderlust. I dream about travelling the world and envy those who have the opportunity to do it so often. The two places I really want to travel to at the moment are Australia and England. The farthest I’ve traveled was to the Philippines, but that was over ten years ago. And the last place I’ve been to that required airplane travel was last summer, when my family and I took a family vacation to California. As far as my travel scrapbook goes, it’s not as filled as much as I’d like it to be, but I’m still young and have my whole life to travel. I think I could wait, but then again, who doesn’t love to go on vacation overseas to explore a beautiful country?

Time for the nitty, gritty, emotional stuff. I am an aspiring writer who is majoring in business, with a love for fashion and beauty. Typical isn’t it? However, I don’t see myself as a typical person. If you ever get to really know me, you’ll understand that I can be one of the weirdest individuals that you will ever meet. But I don’t showcase my weirdness to the world. In fact, when I first meet someone, I am so incredibly quiet. It’s sort of like I’m in my own little bubble and I really hate that about myself, because I know my communication skills is a quality that I’ve had to deal with for quite some time. For most of my life I find that I tend to break myself down because I convince myself that I’m not good enough to do anything. Of course, it’s not on purpose. It’s because of my mentality. Today’s society brainwashes individuals and convinces them that there will always be better. It’s like no matter what you have in life, people can never be one hundred percent satisfied because there will always be a better life. It’s obviously up to the individual to take what they have, be appreciative and always strive for maximum happiness. However, for me, this idea of a better life has stirred me in a different direction. You see, I’ve dealt with poor self confidence my whole life. At one point in my life, I was at a very low stage. I was very unhappy with my self image. I wasn’t overweight, but I was definitely chubbier than the average thirteen year old. I won’t go into too much detail but the fact of the matter is that my self esteem got so low that I started punishing myself in unhealthy ways. Luckily, family members started to realize that I was at a very low point of my life. They intervened and tried to help me with my problem. It took a lot of time for me to accept the fact that I did have a problem, but once I did, I started to get better and began to lead a healthier and happier life. My self esteem even grew when other family members told me that I was inspiring them to get healthier as well. To this day, I still have many ups and downs with my self esteem, and it always goes back to my weight. But I can gladly say that each time I am at my lowest, I always seem to find a way to find the motivation to keep living. And I have my family, friends and most importantly my lovely boyfriend to thank for that.

Some other facts about me is that my favourite colour is purple, but more than half my closet is filled with black. I really enjoy going on long walks and bike rides. I am a part time adventurer who spent the whole summer trying to visit every park in Toronto. For the past three years, I’ve volunteered for a major dance competition in Toronto, but have never thought of actually becoming a dancer myself. Never ask me about music or television shows because I will most likely be totally lost. I don’t do it on purpose, I mean I do have my preference of music and television series, but I never seem to be up to date with the latest and greatest thing. Like I said, I’ve been in my own little bubble almost my whole life, and even though it has gotten in the way of many things, like making new friends, I know at the end of the day, when the right people come along in my life, they’ll accept me for who I am and won’t ask me to change just to be the next “it” girl. I’m not afraid to be different. No one should be!

So like many stories, mine is far from over. In fact, I’m still writing the beginning chapters of my life. And I’d really like to share my stories with you.

Well, that’s that. You’ve got a sneak peak into who Anna Sky is. Hope you enjoyed this little introduction and continue to join me on this journey I call life.

Sincerely,

Anna Sky x

Published by

ksybc

I'm just another girl with a passion for writing, eager to voice these thoughts to the world.

Leave a Reply

