Flashback

As I sit here, cramming for exams, I can’t help but stop and think, “What was I doing at this time last year?” Okay, I admit that with all that’s going on with school right now, this isn’t exactly what randomly popped into my head. However, the other day I saw a post on Facebook from a colleague from my high school saying that if we, meaning the graduates from my school last year  had the chance, then we should take a moment and watch the graduation video again. And that’s when all these high school memories came up.

For some, high school is considered the best four years of their lives. While others may disagree completely, but it really depends on how you look at things. High school is literally a highway to the rest of your life. After high school, it’s all go go go! University, college or whatever you end up pursuing when you leave the safety net of high school is no joke. You’re faced with reality and it’s time to start competing with the big leagues. It’s like stepping into the jungle all alone for the first time. No one is there to watch over you and protect you. It’s you against the jungle, or at least that’s how I felt when I left high school and started university.

Approximately one year ago, I was in the midst of completing my senior year. The year filled with the most drama, heartache and most definitely stress. In my last year of high school, I went from having a group of best friends, to barely no friends at all. I mistook lust for love. I cried, A LOT. Because of certain actions and things being said by people, students who I barely knew or spoke to were perceiving me to be someone I was not without getting to know who I was. There are a lot of things that happened in my senior year that I wish didn’t happen. At the time I was so angry because things were so overwhelming and the negativity just kept piling up, one after the other. I didn’t know how to deal with it all. In the midst of all the drama that was going on at the time, I tried to convince myself that eventually I would get through it. However things became even worse towards the end of the school year. I dreaded going to school each day. I was counting down the days till graduation. I just wanted it all to be over. I didn’t want to have to deal with the drama, the people and just high school in general. I was so excited to be able to completely start over in university. Little did I know how much “starting over” really meant.

But there were pretty awesome things that came with senior year as well. My graduating class was able to pull off one of the best high school musical flash mobs that the school has seen. With the hard work from the Multicultural Night Committee along side the numerous multicultural clubs, we were able to raise over eight thousand dollars for Haiti. I was surrounded by individuals who were outgoing, determined and passionate leaders. And to top it all off, the best part of my senior year was that I met my best friend and my soul mate.

So to all those who had an impact on me throughout my four years of high school, thank you from the bottom of my heart for doing the things you did and saying the things you said. Because if you hadn’t done these things, whether good or bad, I wouldn’t be the person I am today. To those individuals, whom I called my best friends, thank you as well. To this day, I never actually got closure from you. I think that was the main reason why I wasn’t able to really connect with people that I met in first year of university and open up. I was skeptical to let people in because I was afraid of being hurt, I mean really hurt again. The fact that I lost my friends, whom I was really close with for a big duration of high school, was a huge draw back for me. It was like a big piece of me was torn out and was never replaced. However, this is my chance to get closure and to finally move on. It’s about time don’t you think? So, thank you, from the bottom of my heart for all the memories we had together. All the laughs, the cries, the drama… everything. You taught me one of the biggest lessons that I’ve learnt in high school. Which is, no matter how far you’ve gone in the cave, and you feel lost and alone; there is always a light at the end of that cave waiting for you to escape. I’ve finally found that light, and I can now move on without looking back.

To those ladies of St. Joseph’s College School’s Graduating Class of 2013, good luck to wherever you are now. Whether I bump into you within the next few months, or in ten years from now, I hope you chose the right path and you ladies are doing things that you love.

High school is a learning experience for everyone. Filled with screaming while you are cheering and supporting your team mates. Dancing at school dances till you can no longer feel your feet. Doing reckless things without your parents’ permission, just because everyone else is doing so. Falling in love, being dumped and then falling in love again. Getting your first jobs and spending every pay cheque right down to the last penny. Watching the sun rise as you cram to finish assignments because you spent all the time you had watching Netflix. Day dreaming in your English class as your teacher reads Shakespeare. And most of all discovering who you are…

When you look back at it, you may laugh, cry, get upset or just be filled with smiles. Nonetheless, every thing that happened during those four years of high school happened for a reason. And it’s simply because it’s part of growing up.

So for those of you who are in your final year of high school, eager for the next three months to pass by, just waiting for your name to be called up to the podium to receive your diploma, take a step back and relax for a bit. Because in a years time, when you’re doing exactly what many past high school graduates are doing, you will really begin to appreciate high school more than you are now. And that’s a promise!

Sincerely,

Anna Sky x

Published by

ksybc

I'm just another girl with a passion for writing, eager to voice these thoughts to the world.

Leave a Reply

